Minor In Possession
Underage drinking is now a major point of emphasis in Everett and throughout Snohomish County. MIP charges are serious and they must be taken seriously. Our MIP lawyers can help.
Individuals under 21 who are caught consuming or possessing alcohol face serious consequences in Washington State. The maximum penalty is 364 days in jail and a $5,000 fine. Additionally, there are instances when one could lose their license as well due to an MIP charge.
It is important to take the charge seriously. If you or your child is facing a MIP charge, it is important to seek the guidance of an experienced minor in possession attorney immediately. Our Everett criminal lawyers offer a free consultation to help you understand specific elements of this charges, as well as your state and federal legal rights.
The term “possess” is loosely use in Washington. The individual does not need to have the alcohol literally in his or her hand. Possession could simply be the smell of alcohol coming from one’s breath or being near a container that has or recently had alcohol in it. As you can imagine, this makes MIP charges especially common anytime there are groups of individuals with alcohol present.
Police often patrol high school dances and football games looking for underage drinking. These charges are also common when the police show up to noise complaints and to shut down parties.
No one should have to graduate high school or college with a criminal conviction. It is hard enough to get a job after school. One of our Everett criminal defense attorneys today for a free consultation. We can discuss your options and what you could be facing.
Our Everett criminal lawyers serve all of Snohomish County. Call now for help and real answers.