There are a number of violent crimes that fall under the umbrella of assault. Washington law separates assaults into four distinct categories (called degrees), based upon the severity of the crime. If you're charged with any assault crime in Everett, a conviction could have a devastating impact on your life. Not only will you incur a criminal record, but you will face a series of often-severe punishments. The Everett assault lawyers at the Law Office of Jason S. Newcombe understand the stakes, and will aggressively fight to protect your interests.
Would you like more detailed information about the assault charges you currently face? If so, you can get specific answers from one of our professional Everett assault attorneys. As a primer, please review the following information about assault law in Washington.
There are four degrees of assaults. Degree one through three are felonies, while assault in the fourth degree is a gross misdemeanor. The degree of each is dependent on several different factors, including the severity of the injuries or potential injuries, along with whether there was a weapon involved. The felonies would be charged in the Snohomish County Superior Court in downtown Everett while the assault in the 4° could be charged either in the Municipal Court or the District Court.
- First Degree Assault - A Class A felony, this is an assault with a deadly weapon with intent to cause bodily harm or death, or one that results in either. As the most serious assault charge a person can face, a conviction is punishable by a maximum sentence of life in prison.
- Second Degree Assault - A Class B felony, this is an intentional assault that causes substantial bodily hard to another person. It is also charged in cases where the assault was performed with a deadly weapon, while attempting to commit a felony, when a fetus is harmed during an assault on a pregnant woman, or when strangulation was involved. If convicted, the punishments include up to 10 years in prison and a fine of $20,000.
- Third Degree Assault - A Class C felony, this charge is levied against a person accused of causing bodily hard to another person through the negligent use of a weapon, or during an assault on a police officer, doctor, or nurse. A conviction could lead to a $10,000 fine and up to five years in prison.
- Fourth Degree Assault - A gross misdemeanor, this crime covers assaults that are less severe. For example, a punch or kick. A conviction for this assault can result in a $5,000 fine and up to a year in jail.
If any of these charges have been levied against you contact one of our Everett assault attorneys without delay.Our Team Of Everett Assault Lawyers Need Time To Build A Case
In Everett, there are all sorts of reasons why a person may be charged with assault. Domestic violence situations are quite common, and there are occasions when these charges are fabricated. If someone is falsely claiming that they've been victimized by you in an assault, protect your rights with help from a qualified legal professional.
Our Everett lawyers are skilled litigators, but they need adequate time to develop your defense. Don't waste any precious time - contact one of our Everett assault lawyers today and do everything you can to avoid time in prison, expensive fines, and a permanent criminal record.